Eötvös Loránd University
    The predecessor of Eötvös Loránd University (ELTE) was founded in 1635 by Cardinal Péter Pázmány, as a catholic university for teaching Theology and Philosophy. In 1770-1780, the University was transferred to Buda and later to Pest, and with the support of Maria Theresa, the Empress of Austria and Queen of Hungary, became the Royal Hungarian University. In 1950 the university was reorganized and adopted its present name. It was named after one of its professors, the world-famous physicist, Loránd Eötvös.

    Currently, ELTE has eight faculties: Education and Psychology, Humanities, Informatics, Law, Primary and Pre-School Education, Science, Social Sciences, and the Bárczi Gusztáv Faculty of Special Needs Education. Over the last hundred years, Eötvös Loránd University has had many world famous scientists and four Nobel Prize laureates among its teachers and alumni. The current number of students enrolled yearly has reached 28,000, and there is an academic staff of 1,800 highly-qualified teachers and researchers.

    Institute of Mathematics
      The history of the Institute has been started in 1773 when the university founded the Department of Higher Mathesis. In 1911 Lipót Fejér (Leopold Fejér) was appointed the Head of Department of Higher Mathesis. His four decade long scientific and teaching activity had an enormous impact on Hungarian mathematics. He inspired and advised students like János Neumann (John von Neumann), Pál Erdős (Paul Erdős), György Pólya (George Pólya) or Pál Turán (Paul Turán). Furthermore, next to Fejér in the 1940s Frigyes Riesz and Alfréd Rényi also had on impact on Hungarian mathematicians and research trends. Therefore, not surprisingly functional analysis, combinatorics, graph theory and number theory became active research fields.

      In the recent years the tradition has been continued with mathematicians like László Lovász (Wolf Prize winner, former president of IMU and president of Hungarian Academy of Sciences) and Endre Szemerédi (Abel Prizer winner).

      Currently, the Institute has eight departments: Algebra and Number Theory, Analysis, Applied Analysis and Computational Mathematics, Computer Science, Geometry, Mathematics Teaching and Education Centre, Operations Research, and Probability Theory and Statistics.